Training & Classes

Texas License to Carry a Handgun Class
(Formerly Texas CHL)
4.5 Hour Classroom Plus Range Time
$49 New License



Text or call 469-210-1911 to confirm seat after you have registered 
Eagle Gun Range
491 W Valley Ridge Blvd
Lewisville, TX 75057

*Class is limited to 20 people

The course is set by the Texas Department of Public Safety, as is the course length.  The classroom portion of the course includes (1) License restrictions and rules (2) The laws that relate to weapons and to the use of deadly force (3) Handgun use, proficiency and safety (4) Nonviolent dispute resolution (5) Proper storage practices for handguns.  The length of the course is 4 1/2 - 6 hours plus range qualification.

Upon completion of the course, you will be issued the state-required LICENSE TO CARRY A HANDGUN PROFICIENCY COURSE CERTIFICATE OF TRAINING (Form  LTC-100)
Eye/Ear protection is provided at no additional charge if you are unable to provide your own.
*Range Fee is not included in the $49.
 If you do not have a handgun, you can rent one and purchase ammo the day of the class.
For the handgun proficiency demonstration, you will shoot a course of fire consisting of 50 rounds fired at a 24" x 45" B27L silhouette target.  
20 rounds are fired from the 3 yard line
20 rounds are fired from the 7 yard line
10 remaining rounds fired from the 15 yard line.  
All firing is closely supervised by the DPS Instructor and Range Safety Officer

Texas LTC Eligibility:
  • Must be a legal resident of Texas (6 Months)
  • Must be at least 21, unless active duty in the military, then at least 18
  • No FELONY convictions in any state
  • Must not be currently charged with a Class A or Class B MISDEMEANOR or Felony
  • Must not be chemically dependent, including alcohol
  • Must be capable of exercising sound judgement
  • Must not have been convicted of a Class A or Class B misdemeanor or a disorderly conduct in the past 5 years
  • Must be fully qualified under Federal and State Laws to purchase a handgun
  • Must not be delinquent in any payments to the State of Texas, including child support, property taxes, or the Comptrollers Office
  • Must not be restricted by a protective or restraining order involving a person
  • Must not have been convicted of a felony grade juvenile delinquent conduct in the previous 10 years
Range Requirements:
Eye and Ear Protection
Proper Footwear (Flip Flops or Sandals not recomended)
Quality Handgun
At Least 50 Rounds of Ammo (No Reloads)

Craig Carroll
DPS Certified LTC Instructor
469-210-1911
Craig@CarrollConcealed.com